What is your geek level?

Discussion in 'Life, the Universe and Everything' started by Phunkygeeza, Jan 10, 2008.

Tags:

What kind of geek are you?

Poll closed Mar 10, 2008.
  1. Yes: I'm an uber-geek and work in IT so complex it would make your hair curl

6 vote(s)
    24.0%
  2. Yes: I work in IT but I'm just a regular geek

6 vote(s)
    24.0%
  3. Yes: I'm a geek of a non-IT persuation

6 vote(s)
    24.0%
  4. No: I'm a bean-counter not a geek

2 vote(s)
    8.0%
  5. No: But I'm married (or otherwise hitched) to one

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. No: I'm a regular, normal kind of person

5 vote(s)
    20.0%
  1. Reading recent posts, and knowing quite a few of our membership, there is quite a prescence of folks who work in IT generally around.
    Now I know MMORPG's attract their fair share of the propeller-headed, but I wondered how many we have amongst our membership...

So please if you don't mind answer the following poll, and out of interest let's see if we're all geeks :p

• Like Like x 11
  2. Kets

Kets Cranky Old EuC Reporter

I used to be an uber geek I think, developing and debugging machine code routines, working in pre-assembler language, punch cards and the like. I wrote page swapping routines, commodore 64 and 128 graphics and game programs, second generation (8k max memory) application development, etc. I suppose that would make your hair curl, but mostly it took a toll on my common sense as is evident in my incessant ramblings. You don't see the world quite the same way after that.

After that it was UNIX system administration ( AIX, Honeywell, Sequent, Pyramid, HP) and Database administration (Oracle, SQL Server, Pick ( uniVerse)). Now it's all project management, infrastructure and intranet web upgrades and deployment.

It pays better, the hours are MUCH better and the travel is substantailly reduced. Besides, it gives me time to spend at home with my family and play EU.

• Like Like x 10
  3. Kets > Very much the same myself...