Safe Mode stole my Face :(

Discussion in 'General Entropia Universe Discussion' started by Louise Ranavolana Brooks, Feb 27, 2022.

1. Actually they gave it back to me later - but for a while I was devastated :(

It is strange but it bothered me much more than I thought it would - I reckon I look pretty good from the front even if rather retarded when viewed in profile. I have been playing for over 4 years & have got used to how I look.

It came about when I was mining & wood harvesting in PvP4. I have this desire to tempt fate every now & then.
    I was chatting to a friend & I mentioned that without radar it would be hard to notice another player until they were really close. Unless you are wearing colorful clothes & racing about or moving in a way that draws attention.
    He replied that if in Safe Mode avatars appear as if made of marshmallow. I had to try it to see, and yes as a white marshmallow person I was much more obvious - much easier to see fruits etc. though.

Later I changed back to the resolution I normally use - and when I looked at myself I was quite different. different nose, fuller face, smaller eyes bigger mouth
    - like an average F avatar. I had fuglified myself

I was going to post before & after pics. However when I logged on this morning I was back to my original me. I was tempted to do it again & post - but you know the saying about pulling a face & the wind changes. I don't want 2 take the chance.

2. San

San

It is strange how perceptions change over time. To me, rooted in the early years of computer games when hardware to render detailed graphics was a distant dream, your game character was only living by your own imagination. Seeing someone expressing today that a missing texture is a somewhat shocking experience to them is fundamentally alien to me.