Quick prenewbie question

Discussion in 'General Entropia Universe Discussion' started by Shadowheart, Sep 28, 2010.

1. Hey folks

I stumbled upon Entropia Universe on the web, and it looks like something that I want to try. I have just one question before I give it a shot: since this game has been around for quite some time, is it even possible for a complete newbie to get going? Are the things that I can do of any use to the community, respectively, can I get a business running that actually attracts customers?

Thanks for answering in advance ;)

• Like Like x 8
  2. Welcome!

There are three main activities that are connected to a loot pool; hunting, mining and crafting. These three are skill-based, where higher skills give you an edge (cutting costs, being able to use better equipment, better blueprints etc). You will have a real hard (long) time reaching the skill levels of the real old dogs that started skilling 7 years ago, not only because they have more skill hours obviously, but also since skill gains have been nerfed a few times since then.

That was however a change that made the gap between new and older players way smaller though. The higher skill point you have the slower each new skill point takes to get, it's an exponential curve. Going from 0 to 5k in a skill goes way way faster than going from 5k to 10k just as an example. And you can certainly have a great time and/or make a profit (if that is what you are after) even without uber skills. So no reason to not try this out just because you weren't here from the start in my opinion.

May I ask what you are after? Purely entertainment which you are ready to pay for? Looking to make a profit out of it all? Or some kind of middle-way trying to get as much entertainment as possible for your buck? That's a good question to ask oneself before starting I suppose.

• Like Like x 7
  3. Anna

Anna Master of the Universe